charlotte russe’s web

Someone told me recently her friend thought my name was Fern. I was instantly charmed. So Charlotte’s Web of her.

Within days a good friend told me she had adopted a stripper name. I immediately landed on Fern as an alter-ego.

Once decided, I was soon in possession of my first items from Charlotte Russe and a new sense of possibility. This was all at the entertaining stage direction of my friend, “Jade.” From whom I learned that her husband has spoken out about capris as making women look matronly. Confirmation at last. Coupled with the recent revelation from “Ask a Dude” that guys will always secretly endorse breast enhancements–my most brutal suspicions have been sustained fast and furiously.

Jade and I have the same fashion challenges. This past weekend we spent a shopping day discussing options, conducting multiple returns, and then proceeded to analysis and the inevitable buyer’s remorse.

Our wardrobes are now richer one chunky belt ($2.50), a top that creates an illusion (see above–I normally do not support images of women where their head is cut off, but the top is the focus in this discussion so . . . ) and a wardrobe item that can only truly be described as something that can’t fully be appreciated except, “on.” It’s drape-y.

To balance this mini-transformation, Jon Stewart called out teachers for their pimped out Hyundais, in a recent commentary on the union debate.

How many competing stereotypes does it take to begin canceling each other out?

About jaclynfre

Recipe adventurer, fast walker, sporadic writer, aunt, sister and daughter
This entry was posted in Life and Culture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment