Primary Shorts

A list of Michigan primary short stories:

  • At the invitation of a friend, I almost drove 2 hours to see a presidential candidate on Sunday, but decided to rest due to Daylight Saving Time. I later discover this same candidate had been in my home town earlier that same day. 
  • Michigan approved “no reason absentee voting” during the mid-term election and this primary is the first test of the wisdom of this law. My absentee ballot, postmarked February 24, is waiting to be counted for a candidate who has already dropped out of the race.
  • A colleague who supports a different party, apologized for wondering if both parties could vote today or if each party had separate primaries. I found this michigan.gov link quite informative, but with a couple of “Wait, what?’s” that caused me to read more slowly through some parts.
  • One of the young custodians at my work wore an “I voted” sticker and let me know she had voted at noon. She reported that her polling station was not that crowded.
  • On the way home from work, a polling station entrance caused traffic to slow as cars turning right made way for cars turning left. Altruistic feelings from voters spilling over into the streets.
  • A friend texted from a town in which we had been colleagues that she had experienced PTSD after being greeted by a mutual acquaintance, volunteering at a polling station. The less details the better, but suffice to say that friendship rooted in shared struggle, are sources of great strength.
  • As I perform my proud political duty, I am convicted by Ezra Klein’s question, “Are you a political hobbyist?”

About jaclynfre

Recipe adventurer, fast walker, sporadic writer, aunt, sister and daughter
This entry was posted in Slice of Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Primary Shorts

  1. I like how you captured the day in short stories. This line is perfect- “Altruistic feelings from voters spilling over into the streets.”

  2. Emily Culbertson says:

    Primary elections are weird. I don’t understand why some of them are so early, then, like you, I’ve voted for someone who isn’t even in the race by the time my state has a turn. I’m wondering when this system started.

Leave a comment